History of the College


Stages of the inception of Turabah University College:

The first stage:

The beginning of the college was in 1428 AH when the College of Applied Medical Sciences was established in Turabah by the noble Royal Decree No. (1093/b) dated 11/21/1428 AH, based on the recommendation of the Higher Education Council in its (46th) session to establish colleges affiliated with Taif University in Governorates: (Turabah - Al Khurma - Rania). Four departments have been identified at the College of Applied Medical Sciences in Turabah to start studying there:

1. Department of Medical Microbiology.

2. Medical Records Section.

3. Department of Biomedical Technology.

4. Department of Veterinary Medical Health.

The first admission of students to the college was in Turabah starting from the academic year 1429/1430 AH, where (73) male students and (57) female students joined it to study there.


The second stage:

       In 1429 AH, the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques approved the decisions of the Higher Education Council in its fiftieth session, in which it was decided to restructure the colleges of education and teachers. Including the College of Education for Girls in Turabah, which was established in the governorate since 1422 AH, and was affiliated with the General Agency for Girls’ Education, and includes: the scientific and literary tracks, where the scientific departments were merged with the College of Applied Medical Sciences in Turabah and the literary departments under the name (College of Education and Arts in Turabah), affiliated with Taif University, and six specializations have been accredited:

1. Sharia and Islamic Studies.

2. The Arabic language.

3. Education and Psychology.

4. Home economics.

5. The English language.

6. Kindergarten.

It was recommended in the College Council No. (3) on 04/16/1430 AH for the academic year 1429/1430 AH to open three other departments in the college, which are:

1. Department of Medical Laboratories.

2. Department of Physiotherapy.

3. Department of Pharmaceutical Industries.

     The opening of the new sections has been approved and approved by the concerned authorities; The students were accepted to study in the Department of Medical Laboratories, starting from the academic year 1432/1433AH.

The third stage:

In 1439 AH, Taif University announced the approval of the Interim Committee for Universities to restructure a number of its faculties in its main headquarters and its branches in the governorates. His Excellency the Rector of the University No. 34406 dated 4/5/1439 AH was issued approving the restructuring of four faculties at Taif University to activate the program and the academic transformation project, including the restructuring of the university branch in Turabah.

Based on this decision, the College of Applied Medical Sciences in Turabah and the College of Education and Arts in Turabah were merged into one college called (Turabah University College).